Andy Shauf’s New Album ‘Norm’ Has A Debt To David Lynch | News

Clash Logo

Andy Shauf has laid out plans for new album ‘Norm’.

Out on February 10th via ANTI- the project has a clear narrative streak, an ambitious new endeavour from the songwriter. The album follows his acclaimed 2020 release ‘The Neon Skyline’, with Andy Shauf adding fresh elements in the process.

His admiration for David Lynch shines through in the album’s curious atmosphere, said to derive its influence from his fabled, and deeply surreal neo-noir Mulholland Drive. ‘Norm’ is the central character, a protagonist who embodies the record’s blurring of light and shade.

“The character of Norm is introduced in a really nice way,” he says. “But the closer you pay attention to the record, the more you’re going to realize that it’s sinister.”

Boasting a Neal Pogue mix, the album is led by new single ‘Wasted On You’. Dreamy R&B with an air of the uncanny, it leads the listener into his next phase.

Tune in now.

‘Norm’ tracklisting:
1. Wasted On You
2. Catch Your Eye
3. Telephone
4. You Didn’t See
5. Paradise Cinema
6. Norm
7. Halloween Store
8. Sunset
9. Daylight Dreaming
10. Long Throw
11. Don’t Let It Get To You
12. All Of My Love

Photo Credit: Angela Lewis

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.